W. Dale Summerford
Gadsden County Tax Collector

W. Dale Summerford
Gadsden County Tax Collector

Hunting & Fishing License

The Tax Collector serves as an agent of the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission. In this capacity, the Tax Collector is responsible for the sale of a variety of hunting and fishing permits. It is the Tax Collectors' duty to collect all moneys from these sales and maintain the records associated with these transactions.

Hunting and Fishing licenses may be obtained at the Tax Collectors' Office or at various sport stores, bait and tackle shops, and retail stores, as designated by the FWCC. You may also purchase licenses on-line by clicking the following link:

                                                          www.myfwc.com/license/

All citizens who intend to hunt or fish in Florida require a valid license. The only exceptions to the law are:

  1. Residents 65 years of age or older who possess either a Resident Senior Citizen Hunting and Fishing Certified or proof of age and residency (A Driver license is sufficient). The Florida Senior Citizens Hunting and Fishing certificate is no longer accepted in Georgia as of July 1, 2008, therefore Florida Seniors must now purchase Non-Resident licenses in Georgia. Georgia Seniors are now required to purchase Non-Resident licenses in Florida. 
  2. Children under the age of 16 are not required to have a license, however they must carry proof of age identification. 
  3. Permanently and totally disabled residents can obtain a special exemption card. An authorized disability statement from the Social Security office or Veterans Administration must be presented upon application. This permit is free. 
  4. Residents who have been accepted by The Florida Department of Health and Rehabilitative Services as a client for retardation and development services are exempt from the license requirements. 
  5. A Florida resident who is a member of the U.S. armed forces and is not stationed in Florida is exempt from the license requirements while home on leave for 30 days or less. Proof of orders must be on the person while hunting or fishing

Hunting & Fishing License

The Tax Collector serves as an agent of the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission. In this capacity, the Tax Collector is responsible for the sale of a variety of hunting and fishing permits. It is the Tax Collectors' duty to collect all moneys from these sales and maintain the records associated with these transactions.

Hunting and Fishing licenses may be obtained at the Tax Collectors' Office or at various sport stores, bait and tackle shops, and retail stores, as designated by the FWCC. You may also purchase licenses on-line by clicking the following link:

                                                          www.myfwc.com/license/

All citizens who intend to hunt or fish in Florida require a valid license. The only exceptions to the law are:

  1. Residents 65 years of age or older who possess either a Resident Senior Citizen Hunting and Fishing Certified or proof of age and residency (A Driver license is sufficient). The Florida Senior Citizens Hunting and Fishing certificate is no longer accepted in Georgia as of July 1, 2008, therefore Florida Seniors must now purchase Non-Resident licenses in Georgia. Georgia Seniors are now required to purchase Non-Resident licenses in Florida. 
  2. Children under the age of 16 are not required to have a license, however they must carry proof of age identification. 
  3. Permanently and totally disabled residents can obtain a special exemption card. An authorized disability statement from the Social Security office or Veterans Administration must be presented upon application. This permit is free. 
  4. Residents who have been accepted by The Florida Department of Health and Rehabilitative Services as a client for retardation and development services are exempt from the license requirements. 
  5. A Florida resident who is a member of the U.S. armed forces and is not stationed in Florida is exempt from the license requirements while home on leave for 30 days or less. Proof of orders must be on the person while hunting or fishing